Front Yard Makeover

This weekend my mom took the 3 hour drive over to help me get this yard back in shape.

IMG_3730

IMG_3733

IMG_3734

4 hours into pulling weeds and raking, I started to think I was tricked into doing yard work that weekend.  My mom still wasn’t there and she just kept sending me pictures of different plants at the store.  I had to question whether she was really coming at all.

IMG_3735

IMG_3738

She did finally show up, but the truth is neither one of us could figure out what direction to take the front of the house.  It’s adorable like a little cottage, but at the same time it’s in Florida and could use a tropical punch.  So I took a trip over to Kathy’s Korner Nursery to get some ideas and that’s it, I was sold.  Look at this tropical paradise.  I would buy them all if I could.

IMG_3728

IMG_3729

So with the magic of the internet, sweat, dirt, sweat, bugs, sweat, shovel, sweat, mulch, and more sweat here we are all done.  Did I mention it was really hot this weekend? You can also see my first house warming present in this picture, my palm tree door knocker.

IMG_3742We went with the pygmy date palm, heliconia, and crotons. We also used a mix of black mulch and rubber mulch to give it a bit of a different look and switched out the broken concrete for pavers. The grass still needs some love, so we also spread some seed and watered.

IMG_3747

IMG_3746

I love how it looks and I can’t wait for them to grow a little taller.  The best part though, was when I woke up the next morning, this little guy was at my front door with a note.

IMG_3741

IMG_3754

He has since found a home near my side door, which also got a bit of a makeover.

IMG_3748

from this…IMG_3688

to this

IMG_3752

What do you think?  Have you updated your landscape lately?

Leave a Reply

