Sleeping with the fishes

The results are in and everyone guessed wrong.  I’m not sure how I feel about that.  On the one hand, I love my new bed, but on the other I’m second guessing my choice seeing how everyone would have chosen every bed except mine.  So here’s how I broke it down.

My favorite bed is #1 Captiva from Joss & Main, but it’s such a specific style. What if I want to buy a new duvet or paint the walls in the future?  I would have to make sure it doesn’t clash with my bed.

Captiva

#2 Mid-Century from West Elm, seemed too simple and looked very similar to the bed I had for the past 12yrs.

Mid Century

As much as I loved #3 Morocco from West Elm, and thought it would allow extra light to shine through since the bed is in front of the window, someone reminded me how annoying it is to dust dark furniture.  With Down pillows and comforter, I already feel like I’m dusting all the time.

Morocco

And while #5 Wilmington from Joss & Main, looked fun and beachy, reclaimed would doesn’t seem like the smoothest surface to park my pillow at night.  I kept imagining snags in my blankets or sheets.

Wilmington

Final answer….#4 Stria from West Elm

(I waited until all of their beds were 20% off)

Stria2

and here it is

IMG_4977

room1

(Please disregard my poor photography.  Two cameras and these are still the best pictures I could get.)

So I still have more curtains and pictures to hang, but I’m happy to finally have the pink sand walls painted over.  They only look tan in pictures. Here’s a preview of where the room started.

IMG_3153

IMG_3528

IMG_4946

IMG_3668

DSC01771

So what do you think?

Leave a Reply

